Day 36: Constructing Rational Functions

One way I’ve found to be sure students actually understand a process is to turn it around on them.  My precalc classes have been graphing rational functions and seem to have the process down.  But, I wonder, do they really, REALLY get it?  So I do a switcher-roo.  I give them a graph and they have to write the equation.  Or I give them the special characteristics of the function and they have to build the equation.

20151022_105841 20151022_111117

We did a pass the pen today where each student using a color pen added a part of the equation and noted why that part was necessary.  They all wanted to add to the equation…I guess they get it!!  Woot-woot!!

Posted on October 27, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment