Day 149: How Old Are You?

While listening to the radio on the way to school this morning, one news item was heralding in Microsoft’s new app “How Old Do I Look?” Basically, you input a photo of yourself (or someone else) and the app guesses your age.  There is also a discussion of the story behind the demo, which would be very interesting to my techie kids.

how-old-website

SCORE!!!!  This seems to be the makings of an authentic application of AP Statistics concepts with a real situation.  Although we use iPads, I quickly looked for a similar app on the appropriate platform and I found one (actually a couple), so at least I have the initial technology to use with an activity.  I was thinking that the kids would find the difference between their actual age and computer’s guess – I see possibly using z-scores here.  Maybe have them take a variety of head-shots and calculate the differences and find an average and then build an approximate sampling distribution.

Interestingly, there were also some great comments about the usefulness of the app.  So I screenshot them, and will use as follow-up questions.  Now how to use it in class?!

Posted on April 29, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment