Day 93: Jelly Blubber Kinda Day

Today we completed the Jelly Blubber Activity…wish I knew who originally put this activity together, but it is a “classic” among high school statistics classes.  I first got the activity while attending an AP Summer Institute with Robin Rubinstein.  Over the years I’ve seen variations on the basic idea.  I adjust the content to fit the school and surrounding area.  The kids measure the lengths and record on their worksheet via their iPads.

20150130_160204

Once they had their data, I used the Navigator to collect all of their sample averages and then displayed them so we could look at the approximate sampling distribution….great time to review the important concepts of a sampling distribution that we’ll use in inference.  Pretty nice displays, huh?  Actually we had a couple of “outliers” and the kids suggested that perhaps some students had entered their data in centimeters instead of millimeters.  Of course I praised them enthusiastically, pointing out how much they had grown in their ability to look at data critically.  When asked, a couple of them fessed up and so I adjusted those values and got the display below.  The predictability of the CLT never fails to amaze me!  Such a stats geek!

Jelly Blubber data 2015

My students answered some more questions and were led through the process of calculating confidence intervals with a known population standard deviation, since there are only 100 total Jelly Blubbers.  I asked them to randomly select one of their five CI using randint(…I was worried that the time it’d take to have all of my students put up all 5 of their CI would take the whole period.  Using sticky dots, big graph paper, and markers, they drew in their chosen CI.  Didn’t finish so the rest is for tomorrow.

Posted on January 28, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

