Day 85: Sampling Distribution Rubric

 

One of the most challenging aspects of AP Statistics is the technical writing required.  Students are not used to writing in supporting details and following a prescribed format.  Although I give them an acronym to help them through the steps, their writing often lacks detail and critical components.

I use the 4-step process (Think, Plan, Do, Conclude) as a scaffold for students to organize their writing in inference procedures.  I also don’t like to hit them with “everything” all at once when we begin the inference units.  So I have used the Sampling Distribution unit to incorporate the 4-step process along with many of the components of inference procedure requirements.  Most importantly, I “enforce” the use of the probability statement: P( statistic > value) idea, introduce the conditions for building the sampling distribution (which are soooooo similar to those in inference procedures) and writing conclusions in context.  I have found this to be extremely helpful since students then already know the procedure and all we do is “tweak” it during inference.

20150114_115952As part of my professional evaluation process, I decided I wanted to try to quantify and rubricize (I don’t think that’s a word..haha) the process so I would have quantifiable data.  I matched the 4-step process with the essential AP requirements associated with each step.  Wanting to have 4 components under each step of the 4-step process, I went through the comments of the head grader of previous AP exams to look for insight into the components of each step. I looked for ways to connect inference language to sampling distribution language.  I also wanted the rubric to use the grading process of an AP free response question (E, P, I) as well as the overall grading score (4-1).  Unlike the AP grading, I am demanding more for what qualifies as an E, P and I; students must have all 4 components of a step to get an E and they must get all 4 step at an E to get a 4 for the problem.

I hope this guides my students to a well-written response while encouraging them to pay attention to details…the killer on the AP exam.  I will use this rubric often with students in a formative assessment way, encouraging student reflection on their writing.  I am excited that the Common Core seems to be requiring more thoughtful student responses with supporting details and proper use of vocabulary.  How do you create rubrics for student learning?

Posted on January 15, 2015, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

